Pan celebrates 70 years with retro series honouring the ‘golden age of paperback publishing’
 More about the book!

20 classic Pan titles are being rereleased to celebrate the golden age of paperback publishing.

The new releases feature new cover designs in brilliant technicolour, harking back to mid-century minimalist Swiss graphic design.

The first 12 Pan paperback titles were published in June 1947, beginning with Ten Stories by Rudyard Kipling. Because of post-war paper shortages, the books were initially printed in France and then shipped from Paris over the Channel and up the Thames to Kingston.

Authors of the 20 special edition paperbacks include HG Wells, Arthur Conan Doyle, John Buchan, James Herriot, Douglas Adams, Jeffrey Archer and Ken Follett.

Pan will also be reintroducing The Golden Pan Award, which was founded in 1962 to honour any title selling over a million copies in the Pan paperback edition. The prize will have a revised design for the 70th anniversary and will be given to authors who have sold over a million of a single title in all formats.

Click on the link above for more information!

Categories Fiction International

Tags Arthur Conan Doyle Douglas Adams HG Wells James Herriot Jeffrey Archer John Buchan Ken Follett Pan Pan Macmillan SA Rudyard Kipling

1 Votes

You must log in to post a comment