Fiction

Fri – 14th Jun 2019

2019 Media24 Books Prizes winners announced – Niq Mhlongo awarded Herman Charles Bosman Prize

Financial Mail editor Rob Rose, novelist and short story writer Niq Mhlongo, poet Gabeba Baderoon and octagenarian debut author Andries Buys are among the recipients of the 2019 Media24 Books Literary Prizes awarded in Cape Town last night (Thursday, 13 June 2019).

Barry Gilder’s novel The List has been optioned for a film or TV series!

Barry Gilder’s novel The List has been optioned for development as a feature film series or television series by Known Associates Entertainment.

The Friday Night Book Club: Read an excerpt from The Spanish Promise by bestselling author Karen Swan

Staying in this evening? Warm yourself up with a glass of wine and Karen Swan’s sizzling summer novel The Spanish Promise.

Thu – 13th Jun 2019

[Watch] Bestselling author John Boyne has a message for his South African fans about his new book My Brother’s Name is Jessica

John Boyne recorded a short video message for his South African fans about his new book, My Brother’s Name is Jessica.

Wed – 12th Jun 2019

Dead at First Sight by Peter James – full of suspense and twists you won’t see coming

Dead at First Sight, the 15th Roy Grace novel from the highly acclaimed, number one bestselling author Peter James, is out this month!

Tue – 11th Jun 2019

The bestselling books in South Africa – April

This list represents the bestselling books in South Africa from the previous four weeks to 2 May 2019, and combines fiction and non-fiction bestsellers.

Bridget Jones’s Diary meets Americanah in Candice Carty-Williams’s sharp, relatable and evocative debut novel Queenie

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams is a disarmingly honest, boldly political and inclusive novel that will speak to anyone who has gone looking for love and found something very different in its place.

The lottery of life and love in Lagos – find out more about Toni Kan’s new short story collection Nights of the Creaking Bed

Corruption, religious intolerance, gratuitous violence and the importance of joy are some of the big themes that underlie Toni Kan’s memorable collection, Nights of the Creaking Bed.

Mon – 10th Jun 2019

Something’s gone sour in the Winelands … Read an excerpt from Double Echo by François Bloemhof

Penguin Random House has shared an excerpt from Double Echo by François Bloemhof.

John Connolly is in South Africa to launch his novel A Book of Bones, the thrilling new instalment of the Charlie Parker series!

Jonathan Ball Publishers invites you to the launch of A Book of Bones by John Connolly, the latest in his popular Charlie Parker series.

Fri – 7th Jun 2019

Ready to take the UK by storm! Angela Makholwa’s novel The Blessed Girl is out from Bloomsbury in June

Bloomsbury will publish the United Kingdom edition of Angela Makholwa’s The Blessed Girl on 13 June 2019!

Thu – 6th Jun 2019

Writers! Pan Macmillan SA is accepting unsolicited manuscripts in June – take advantage of the opportunity

Good news for prospective authors! From 18–24 June 2019, Pan Macmillan SA is accepting unsolicited manuscripts.

Wed – 5th Jun 2019

Footnotes, June 2019: Book links from around the web

At The Reading List, we’re trainspotters when it comes to interesting book links, and here are a number that caught our eye …

As You Like It, anthology featuring African LGBTQI+ voices and allies, wins international Lambda Literary Award

Jacana Media and the Other Foundation are thrilled to announce that the Gerald Kraak Anthology As You Like It has won the 2019 Lambda Literary Award for LGBTQ Anthology – Fiction.

Lucinda Riley has a special message for her South African readers!

Lucinda Riley’s latest book The Butterfly Room has just gone to number one in South Africa, and she has a special message of thanks for her fans!

Tue – 4th Jun 2019

Find out which authors will be at the 2019 Open Book Festival in Cape Town

The Open Book Festival has announced the first group of authors that will be at the event this year!

Mon – 3rd Jun 2019

A seminal boyhood moment played out against the backdrop of political upheaval – Read an excerpt from Tony Peake’s North Facing

Jonathan Ball Publishers has shared an excerpt from North Facing by Tony Peake. About the book Peake’s first novel for 20 years is …

Fri – 31st May 2019

The Friday Night Book Club: Read ‘My Beautiful Little Boy’ from Phumlani Pikoli’s book The Fatuous State of Severity

The Fatuous State of Severity is a fresh collection of short stories and illustrations that explores themes surrounding the experiences of a generation of young, urban South Africans coping with the tensions of social media, language insecurities and relationships of various kinds.

Wed – 29th May 2019

‘Smart plots, brilliant characters and juicy romance’ – The Spanish Promise by Karen Swan

The next sizzling novel from bestselling author Karen Swan, set in the vibrant streets of Madrid, for fans of Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore.

Tue – 28th May 2019

‘Isabella Hammad is an enormous talent and her book is a wonder’ – Zadie Smith. Read an excerpt from The Parisian here

‘The Parisian is a sublime reading experience: delicate, restrained, surpassingly intelligent, uncommonly poised and truly beautiful….That this remarkable historical epic should be the debut of a writer in her twenties seems impossible, yet it’s true. Isabella Hammad is an enormous talent and her book is a wonder.’ – Zadie Smith