Penguin Random House SA

Join Marlene van der Westhuizen for the launch of Plate at Exclusive Books Hyde Park, followed by a dinner

Exclusive Books and Penguin Random House invite you to the launch of Plate by Marlene van der Westhuizen.

‘The Wild Zulu. That’s what the banner says.’ – Read an excerpt from Zakes Mda’s new novel The Zulus of New York

Penguin Random House has shared an excerpt from The Zulus of New York, the new novel from Zakes Mda.

Gain a better understanding of life in our oceans with Beachcombing in South Africa – a colourful and family friendly guide

Beachcombing in South Africa by Rudy van der Elst is out now from Penguin Random House!

Don’t miss the launch of Marlene van der Westhuizen’s new cookbook Plate at The Book Lounge (14 Mar)

Struik Lifestyle and The Book Lounge invite you to the launch of Plate by Marlene van der Westhuizen.

Don’t miss the launch of The Last Elephants by Don Pinnock and Colin Bell at The Book Lounge

Penguin Random House and The Book Lounge invite you to the launch of The Last Elephants by Don Pinnock and Colin Bell.

Read an excerpt from Katherine Arden’s striking literary fantasy novel The Winter of the Witch

Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya’s shoulders in The Winter of the Witch, the spellbinding conclusion to the Winternight trilogy.

Read an excerpt from My Coney Island Baby – an exquisite, heartbreaking novel by an Irish discovery

Penguin Random House has shared an excerpt from My Coney Island Baby by Billy O’Callaghan. 

Win a copy of the audiobook of Tumi Morake’s memoir And Then Mama Said …

Entertaining and thought-provoking, And Then Mama Said … by Tumi Morake is one of the must-read memoirs of the year, and now you can WIN the audiobook!

Outstanding in every way – win a hamper of the best in local fiction

Penguin Random House is proud to bring you a full quartet of incredible local fiction new releases this month.

Zakes Mda’s brilliant new novel is The Zulus of New York – Joburg and Cape Town launch details here!

Zakes Mda’s new novel, The Zulus of New York, will be published by Umuzi in March 2019.

Don’t miss the launch of Charles Abrahams’s new book Class Action: In Pursuit of a Larger Life at Love Books (6 Mar)

Penguin Random House invite you to the launch of Charles Abrahams’s memoir Class Action: In Pursuit of a Larger Life.

‘In the spring of 1970, I fell in love with Muhammad Ali.’ – Read an excerpt from The Distance, the new novel from Ivan Vladislavić

In the spring of 1970, I fell in love with Muhammad Ali. This love, the intense, unconditional kind of love we call hero worship, was tested in the new year when Ali fought Joe Frazier at Madison Square Garden. I was at high school in Verwoerdburg, which felt as far from the ringside as you could get, but I read every scrap of news about the big event and never for a moment doubted that Ali would win. As it happened, he was beaten for the first time in his professional career.

Join Ivan Vladislavić, in conversation with Mark Gevisser, for the launch of The Distance at Kalk Bay Books (2 April)

Penguin Random House and Kalk Bay Books invite you to the launch of Ivan Vladislavić’s new novel The Distance.

Malcom Gladwell announces first new book in six years – Talking to Strangers

How do we make sense of the unfamiliar? Why are we so bad at judging someone, reading a face, or detecting a lie? Why do we so often fail to ‘get’ other people?

Selfies, Sexts and Smartphones – hear Emma Sadleir talking about her book at the Knysna Literary Festival

Emma Sadleir will be at the Knysna Literary Festival to talk about her book Selfies, Sexts and Smartphones.

Don’t miss Zakes Mda in conversation with Ingrid Winterbach at Woordfees (5 March)

Zakes Mda will be at Woordfees this year to discuss his new book The Zulus of New York.

‘He doesn’t stop running; he knows it’s him the priest most wants to kill.’ Read an excerpt from Chris Hammer’s powerful debut thriller Scrublands

Read an excerpt from Chris Hammer’s Scrublands – one of the most powerful, compelling and original crime novels to be written in Australia.

Every recipe you need – 2000 Healthy Meals and 2000 Family Meals

2000 Healthy Meals is full of delicious recipes that are healthy and low in calories. 2000 Family Meals contains hundreds of recipes for every occasion.

‘I am alone. I am on a mountain. The plane I was on has crashed.’ – Read an excerpt from Freefall, the new thriller from Jessica Barry

Freefall by Jessica Barry is an addictive new thriller perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, A J Finn and Shari Lapena.