2017 Caine Prize shortlist announced
 More about the book!

The shortlist for the 2017 Caine Prize for African Writing has been announced – including Magogodi oaMphela Makhene from South Africa!

Five stories make up the shortlist, with the other four writers coming from Nigeria and Sudan. The shortlist includes a story translated from Arabic for only the second time in the 18-year history of the prize.

Lesley Nneka Arimah was also shortlisted for the award last year, and is a former regional winner of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize.


2017 Caine Prize for African Writing shortlist

  • Lesley Nneka Arimah (Nigeria) for ‘Who Will Greet You At Home’ published in The New Yorker (USA. 2015)
  • Chikodili Emelumadu (Nigeria) for ‘Bush Baby’ published in African Monsters, eds. Margarét Helgadóttir and Jo Thomas (Fox Spirit Books, USA. 2015)
  • Bushra al-Fadil (Sudan) for ‘The Story of the Girl whose Birds Flew Away’, translated by Max Shmookler, published in The Book of Khartoum – A City in Short Fiction eds. Raph Cormack & Max Shmookler (Comma Press, UK. 2016)
  • Arinze Ifeakandu (Nigeria) for ‘God’s Children Are Little Broken Things’ published in A Public Space 24 (A Public Space Literary Projects Inc., USA. 2016)
  • Magogodi oaMphela Makhene (South Africa) for ‘The Virus’ published in The Harvard Review 49 (Houghton Library Harvard University, USA. 2016)


The winner of the £10,000 prize will be announced at an award ceremony and dinner at Senate House Library, London on Monday, 3 July. Each shortlisted writer will also receive £500.

Each of these stories will be published in New Internationalist’s 2017 Caine Prize anthology The Goddess of Mtwara and Other Stories in June and through co-publishers in 16 African countries.

This year’s panel of judges was award winning author, poet and editor Nii Ayikwei Parkes (chair); 2007 Caine Prize winner Monica Arac de Nyeko; accomplished author and Chair of the English Department at Georgetown University Professor Ricardo Ortiz; Libyan author and human rights campaigner Ghazi Gheblawi; and distinguished African literary scholar Dr Ranka Primorac, University of Southampton.

Nii Parkes said the shortlist ‘reveals the depth and strength of short story writing from Africa and its diaspora’:

This year’s submissions were a pleasure to read; we were all impressed by the quality and imaginative ambition of the work received. Indeed, there were a dozen stories that did not make the shortlist that would win other competitions.

There seemed to be a theme of transition in many of the stories. Whether it’s an ancient myth brought to life in a contemporary setting, a cyber attack-triggered wave of migration and colonisation, an insatiable quest for motherhood, an entertaining surreal ride that hints at unspeakable trauma, or the loss of a parent in the midst of a personal identity crisis, these writers juxtapose future, past and present to ask important questions about the world we live in.

Although they range in tone from the satirical to the surreal, all five stories on this year’s shortlist are unrelentingly haunting. It has been a wonderful journey so far and we look forward to selecting a winner. It will be a hard job, but I’ve always believed that you can’t go wrong with a Ghanaian at the helm of an international panel.

Categories Africa Fiction International

Tags Arinze Ifeakandu Awards Bushra al-Fadil Caine Prize Caine Prize for African Writing Chikodili Emelumadu Lesley Nneka Arimah Magogodi oaMphela Makhene

1 Votes

You must log in to post a comment