Michael Ondaatje wins the Golden Man Booker Prize for his novel The English Patient
 More about the book!

The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje has won the Golden Man Booker Prize, a one-off award for the best work of fiction from the last five decades.

All fifty-one previous winners of the Booker Prize were considered by a panel of five judges, who each read the winning novels from one decade of the prize’s history, before the books were put to a month-long public vote.

The judges were: Robert McCrum, who chose In a Free State by VS Naipaul for the nineteen-seventies; Lemn Sissay, who chose Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively for the nineteen-eighties; Kamila Shamsie, who chose The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje for the nineteen-nineties; Simon Mayo, who chose Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel for the two-thousands; and Hollie McNish, who chose Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders for the twenty-tens.

Born in 1943 in Sri Lanka when it was known as Ceylon, Ondaatje now lives in Canada. The English Patient, his third novel, won the Booker Prize in 1992. The book follows the lives of four characters brought together during World War II, told through the painful, morphine-affected memories of an anonymous Englishman.

Find out more on The JRB

Categories Fiction International

Tags Awards Golden Man Booker Prize Michael Ondaatje News The English Patient The JRB

1 Votes


You must log in to post a comment