Don’t miss the Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award winner announcement and award ceremony in Cape Town

The Jacana Literary Foundation in association with the European Union Delegation to South Africa will announce the winners of the 2019 Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award at a relaxing evening of poetry, cheese and wine.

The overall winner will be announced and the prizes awarded.

Event details

Date: Tuesday 11 February 2020
Time: 17:30 for 18:00
Venue: 6 Spin St, Cape Town
RSVP: kelly@jacana.co.za

The three finalists were selected by Professor Mongane Wally Serote (chair of both the judging panel and the Jacana Literary Foundation), from the longlist of poems selected by this year’s judging panel.

In alphabetical order, the three shortlisted poems are:

  • ‘Motherhood’ by Zukiswa Muriel Adonis
  • ‘Sea Boy’ by Beatrice Willoughby
  • ‘The Herbalist’ by Wesley Rood

‘… the poems scream and ask: what must done? That question can only be attended to, it can only find answers if the political centre is holding, if the nation is anchored in hope and optimism …’ – Mongane Serote

The longlist of 67 poems will be published in the 9th annual Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Anthology.

Categories Non-fiction South Africa

Tags Awards Beatrice Willoughby Jacana Literary Foundation Jacana Media Poetry Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Anthology Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award Wesley Rood Zukiswa Muriel Adonis

1 Votes


You must log in to post a comment