Caine Prize winner announced soon – listen to the shortlisted stories read by the authors
 More about the book!

The winner of the £10,000 2017 Caine Prize for African Writing will be announced at Senate House Library, London, in partnership with SOAS, on Monday 3 July.

Five stories make up the shortlist, with writers from South Africa, Nigeria and Sudan. The shortlist includes a story translated from Arabic for only the second time in the 18-year history of the prize.

2017 Caine Prize for African Writing shortlist

  • Lesley Nneka Arimah (Nigeria) for ‘Who Will Greet You At Home’
  • Chikodili Emelumadu (Nigeria) for ‘Bush Baby’
  • Bushra al-Fadil (Sudan) for ‘The Story of the Girl whose Birds Flew Away’
  • Arinze Ifeakandu (Nigeria) for ‘God’s Children Are Little Broken Things’
  • Magogodi oaMphela Makhene (South Africa) for ‘The Virus’

Recordings of each writer reading their story are available for your listening pleasure:

Find out more about the authors, and read the stories, on the Caine Prize website.

Categories Africa Fiction International South Africa

Tags Arinze Ifeakandu Bushra al-Fadil Caine Prize Chikodili Emelumadu Lesley Nneka Arimah Magogodi oaMphela Makhene Nigeria South Africa Sudan

1 Votes

You must log in to post a comment