Win a copy of Mubanga Kalimamukwento’s debut novel The Mourning Bird – winner of the 2019 Dinaane Debut Fiction Award
 More about the book!

Jacana Media is giving away one copy of Mubanga Kalimamukwento’s award-winning debut novel The Mourning Bird.

To stand a chance of winning, answer one easy question on Facebook or Twitter:

Who is the main character in The Mourning Bird?

Comment with your answer on the competition posts on either Facebook or Twitter to enter. The competition is running from 1 July to 4 July 2019 and the winner will be announced on 5 July.

See more details below:



The Mourning Bird is the winner of the 2019 Dinaane Debut Fiction Award. Set in the 1990s, Lusaka, the novel explores the Zambian psyche in times of death, political instability, economic change and growth through the eyes of its young protagonist.

Categories Africa Fiction

Tags Competitions Jacana Media Mubanga Kalimamukwento The Mourning Bird Win

1 Votes


You must log in to post a comment