New book alert! Rodney Trudgeon’s Concert Notes – A Selection of Favourite Orchestral Masterpieces

Rodney Trudgeon’s Concert Notes: A Selection of Favourite Orchestral Masterpieces is out in mid-January 2020 from Jonathan Ball Publishers.

‘A must-have for any concert-goer … informative and impeccably researched. ’ – Pieter Schoeman, Concertmaster, London Philharmonic Orchestra

‘This is a book every performer and listener will enjoy reading.’ – Gina Beukes, leading international violinist, violist and teacher

Do you ever wish you had time to read the programme notes in depth before rushing to take your seat at a concert – or that you could quickly find out more about that sublime piece playing on the radio? Now, with Rodney Trudgeon’s Concert Notes, you can enrich your musical listening experiences at leisure.

Rodney Trudgeon has selected nearly 250 regularly performed works from his programme notes and pre-concert talks – covering the Baroque period to the 20th century. From Bach to Weber, Rodney looks at famous concertos, overtures, symphonies and more, discussing them lucidly and evocatively.

A book as timeless as the music itself …

About the author

Rodney Trudgeon’s name is synonymous with classical-music broadcasting in South Africa. During his more than 40 years in radio, he has worked as presenter and producer, and has interviewed many local and international musicians. Rodney is the Classic Breakfast host and Programme Manager of Fine Music Radio in Cape Town.

Categories Non-fiction South Africa

Tags Jonathan Ball Publishers Music New books New releases Rodney Trudgeon’s Concert Notes

1 Votes


You must log in to post a comment