Jowhor Ile wins Etisalat Prize for Literature for his novel And After Many Days
 More about the book!

Nigerian author Jowhor Ile has won the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature for his novel And After Many Days.

The Etisalat Prize for Literature is a pan-African Prize that celebrates debut African writers of published book-length fiction.

Ile will receive £15,000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen, and an Etisalat sponsored book tour to three African countries. He will also undertake an Etisalat-sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland.

Also on the shortlist were Jacqui L’Ange of South Africa, for The Seed Thief, and another Nigerian, Juliet Iromuanya, for Mr and Mrs Doctor.

This year’s judges were Nigerian novelist and poet Helon Habila, South African writer and activist Elinor Sisulu, and Ivorian writer and Africa39 laureate Edwige Renée Dro.

Past winners of the Etisalat Prize include Congolese author Fiston Mwanza Mujila for Tram 83, South African novelist Songeziwe Mahlangu for Penumbra, and Zimbabwean writer NoViolet Bulawayo for We Need New Names.

Categories Africa Fiction International

Tags Awards Etisalat Prize for Literature Jowhor Ile Nigeria

2 Votes

You must log in to post a comment