Gerald Kraak Award and Anthology closing date extended to 31 August 2018

The Jacana Literary Foundation has extended the deadline for the Gerald Kraak Award and Anthology, which honours African writing and photography that ‘provokes thought on the topics of gender, social justice and sexuality’.

‘We would like to see a response from African countries we haven’t seen large volumes of entries from in the past,’ a foundation press release says.

The closing date has been extended from 25 June 2018 to 31 August 2018.

Created in honour of the late activist Gerald Kraak’s extraordinary legacy of supporting human rights, the award advances his contribution to building a world that is safe and welcoming to all. The unique award calls for multi-layered, brave and stirring African voices that represent a new wave of fresh storytelling, one that provokes thought on the topics of gender, social justice and sexuality.

Pwaangulongii Dauod won the 2018 Gerald Kraak Award for his essay ‘Africa’s future has no space for stupid black men’.

Submissions are open to the following genres

  • Fiction
  • Non-fiction
  • Poetry
  • Photography
  • Journalism/magazine reporting
  • Scholarly articles in academic journals and book chapters/extracts
  • Social media/blog writings and contributions

The overall winner will receive a cash prize of R25 000.

Categories Africa Fiction Non-fiction South Africa

Tags Awards Gerald Kraak Anthology Gerald Kraak Award Jacana Literary Foundation Jacana Media News The Other Foundation

1 Votes


You must log in to post a comment