C

Bridget Jones’s Diary meets Americanah in Candice Carty-Williams’s sharp, relatable and evocative debut novel Queenie
 More about the book!

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams is a disarmingly honest, boldly political and inclusive novel that will speak to anyone who has gone looking for love and found something very different in its place.

Brilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking. – Jojo Moyes

Inspirational, funny and wise. – Kit de Waal

Perfect for anyone who loved Fleabag. – Mail on Sunday

About the book

Queenie Jenkins can’t cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long term boyfriend, Tom. That’s definitely just a break though. Definitely not a break up. Stuck between a boss who doesn’t seem to see her, a family who don’t seem to listen (if it’s not Jesus or water rates, they’re not interested), and trying to fit in two worlds that don’t really understand her, it’s no wonder she’s struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Sally Rooney and Diana Evans, and anyone who loved Fleabag and Dear White People.

About the author

Candice Carty-Williams is a marketer, author and journalist based in London. Born in 1989, the result of an affair between a Jamaican cab driver and a Jamaican-Indian dyslexic receptionist, Candice worked in the media before moving into publishing aged 23. In 2016, Candice created and launched the Guardian and 4th Estate BAME Short Story Prize, is a Penguin Books Write Now mentor, and she also contributes regularly to Refinery29, BEAT Magazine, Guardian Guide and i-D. Queenie is her first novel.

Categories Fiction International

Tags Candice Carty-Williams Jonathan Ball Publishers New Books New Releases Queenie


1 Votes

C

You must log in to post a comment

0 Comments