Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀̀ shortlisted for 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction
 More about the book!

The 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist has been announced.

The shortlist includes Nigerian debut novelist Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀̀, as well as 2016 Man Booker Prize shortlistee Madeleine Thien.

The list also includes a previous winner of the prize, Linda Grant.

2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist:

  • Stay With Me by Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀̀
  • The Power Naomi Alderman
  • The Dark Circle by Linda Grant
  • The Sport of Kings by CE Morgan
  • First Love by Gwendoline Riley
  • Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien

Tessa Ross, 2017 Chair of Judges, said:

“It has been a great privilege to Chair the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction in a year which has proved exceptional for writing of both quality and originality. It was therefore quite a challenge to whittle this fantastic longlist of 16 books down to only six … These were the six novels that stayed with all of us well beyond the final page.”

The winner will be announced on 7 June 2017.

Categories Africa Fiction International

Tags Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀̀ Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Nigeria Stay With Me

3 Votes

You must log in to post a comment