Top

Find and share the best in books—daily!

Thu – 17th Jan 2019

Uplifting. Intriguing. 30 women, 30 stories – Cecelia Ahern’s new short story collection Roar

In this singular and imaginative story collection, Cecelia Ahern illuminates the myriad ways in which women overcome adversity with wit, resourcefulness and compassion.

My Name is Finn Jupiter – New Young Adult novel from international bestselling author and filmmaker Gareth Crocker coming 5 February 2019

From the South African author who brought you the international bestseller Finding Jack, comes a young adult novel from Gareth Crocker that will pull at your heartstrings and take you on a vivid journey of courage, survival and heroism.

Class Action: In Search of a Larger Life – Charles Abrahams’s remarkable journey of resistance and healing

Class Action depicts a remarkable journey of resistance and healing in reaction to institutionalised greed and racism and the harm it has done to our identities, our relationships and the people of our country.

Wed – 16th Jan 2019

Applications open for the Short Story Day Africa Editing Mentorship

The Short Story Day Africa Editing Mentorship is open for applications.

Don’t miss Sihle Khumalo at The Book Lounge for the launch of Rainbow Nation My Zulu Arse (24 Jan)

Join Penguin Random House and The Book Lounge for the launch of Rainbow Nation My Zulu Arse, the new book by Sihle Khumalo, the bestselling author of Dark Continent My Black Arse and Almost Sleeping My Way to Timbuktu.

Join LesDaChef for a signing event for his new cookbook Dijo: My Food, My Journey at Exclusive Books Clearwater (26 Jan)

Jacana Media and Exclusive Books invite you to the signing of Dijo: My Food, My Journey by LesDaChef.

The New Silk Roads by Peter Frankopan – a new history of the world

The New Silk Roads – a brand new book by Peter Frankopan – takes a fresh look at the network of relationships being formed along the length and breadth of the Silk Roads today.

Mon – 14th Jan 2019

Cari Mora – From the creator of Hannibal Lecter comes a story of evil, greed, and the consequences of dark obsession

Penguin Random House has revealed the cover for Cari Mora, the new novel from Thomas Harris, bestselling author and creator of The Silence of the Lambs and Hannibal!

Calling all African storytellers: Enter the Gama❤Phile Writers’ Competition and stand a chance to be published by Pan Macmillan SA

Attention aspiring storytellers: make your writing dreams a reality with the GamaPhile Writers’ Competition!

Fri – 11th Jan 2019

David Kenvyn reviews Barry Gilder’s novel The List

‘If anyone is going to write a novel based on the South African security services during apartheid and since the first democratic elections in 1994, Barry Gilder is a very good candidate.’

Sapiens – a thrilling account of humankind’s extraordinary history, from the Stone Age to the Silicon Age

In this bold and provocative book, Yuval Noah Harari explores who we are, how we got here and where we’re going.

You Don’t Own Me – the new novel from the queen of suspense, Mary Higgins Clark, and Alafair Burke

‘Trust Mary Higgins Clark to know what frightens us to death.’

The Friday Night Book Club: Read an excerpt from Gail Schimmel’s The Park

The Friday Night Book Club: Exclusive excerpts from Pan Macmillan every weekend!

Thu – 10th Jan 2019

African Wild Flowers: To Read, Colour and Keep – interesting facts and hours of fun for children

Colouring-in is a favourite children’s pastime, and here’s a new addition to Struik Nature’s ‘Read, Colour and Keep’ series that will give hours of fun, while also expanding children’s knowledge of the natural world.

Eric Idle introduces his new book Always Look on the Bright Side of Life: A Sortabiography

Eric Idle’s new memoir, Always Look on the Bright Side of Life: A Sortabiography, is out now from Jonathan Ball Publishers.

A feel-good story of fearlessness, adventure and friendship, Danielle Steel’s new novel Beauchamp Hall is out now!

Beauchamp Hall – an uplifting, inspiring story about taking back control of your life, by the world’s favourite storyteller, Danielle Steel.

Pippa Green reviews Barry Gilder’s novel The List

One of the more intriguing aspects of Barry Gilder’s gripping spy novel comes in the Author’s Note. In Songs & Secrets, his non-fiction account of his life in exile, from where he returned to senior positions in government, he was ‘invariably asked: Why are there not more secrets’ in the book. The ‘Songs’ reflect another part of Gilder’s identity as an accomplished musician.

Wed – 9th Jan 2019

Don’t miss the Cape Town launch of Tony Park’s new book Scent of Fear (17 Jan)

Pan Macmillan and Exclusive Books invite you to meet Tony Park at the launch of his new novel, Scent of Fear.

Find out more about Sophie Mackintosh’s extraordinary debut novel, The Water Cure

Discover the breakout literary debut of 2018 – the essential read for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Deborah Levy’s Hot Milk and Emma Cline’s The Girls!