Book Extracts

Friday Night Book Club: Read an excerpt from Laura Shepherd-Robinson’s thrilling historical novel Blood and Sugar

If you’re looking for thrilling historical fiction with beautifully drawn characters, Blood and Sugar is a must-read.

‘The Wild Zulu. That’s what the banner says.’ – Read an excerpt from Zakes Mda’s new novel The Zulus of New York

Penguin Random House has shared an excerpt from The Zulus of New York, the new novel from Zakes Mda.

Friday Night Book Club: Read an excerpt from Gail Schimmel’s unputdownable new novel The Accident

The Friday Night Book Club: Exclusive excerpts from Pan Macmillan every weekend!

Listen to an extract from the audiobook of Maybe This Time, the latest heartwarming tale by Jill Mansell

Maybe This Time is the deliciously uplifting new novel from Jill Mansell, the bestselling author of This Could Change Everything and Meet Me at Beachcomber Bay.

Read an excerpt from Katherine Arden’s striking literary fantasy novel The Winter of the Witch

Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya’s shoulders in The Winter of the Witch, the spellbinding conclusion to the Winternight trilogy.

Friday Night Book Club: Read an excerpt from Kristin Hannah’s stay-up-all-night novel The Great Alone

That spring, rain fell in great sweeping gusts that rattled the rooftops. Water found its way into the smallest cracks and undermined the sturdiest foundations. Chunks of land that had been steady for generations fell like slag heaps on the roads below, taking houses and cars and swimming pools down with them. Trees fell over, crashed into power lines; electricity was lost. Rivers flooded their banks, washed across yards, ruined homes. People who loved each other snapped and fights erupted as the water rose and the rain continued.

‘In the spring of 1970, I fell in love with Muhammad Ali.’ – Read an excerpt from The Distance, the new novel from Ivan Vladislavić

In the spring of 1970, I fell in love with Muhammad Ali. This love, the intense, unconditional kind of love we call hero worship, was tested in the new year when Ali fought Joe Frazier at Madison Square Garden. I was at high school in Verwoerdburg, which felt as far from the ringside as you could get, but I read every scrap of news about the big event and never for a moment doubted that Ali would win. As it happened, he was beaten for the first time in his professional career.

Listen to an excerpt from Something To Tell You, the new novel from bestselling author Lucy Diamond

Pan Macmillan has shared an excerpt from Something To Tell You, the new novel by Lucy Diamond, read by Clare Wille.

Friday Night Book Club: Read an excerpt from Mohale Mashigo’s award-winning debut novel, The Yearning

Staying in this evening? Settle in with a glass of wine and this extended excerpt from Mohale Mashigo’s debut novel, The Yearning.

‘He doesn’t stop running; he knows it’s him the priest most wants to kill.’ Read an excerpt from Chris Hammer’s powerful debut thriller Scrublands

Read an excerpt from Chris Hammer’s Scrublands – one of the most powerful, compelling and original crime novels to be written in Australia.

‘I am alone. I am on a mountain. The plane I was on has crashed.’ – Read an excerpt from Freefall, the new thriller from Jessica Barry

Freefall by Jessica Barry is an addictive new thriller perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, A J Finn and Shari Lapena.

Friday Night Book Club: Read an excerpt from An Anonymous Girl – an electrifying psychological thriller

When Jessica Farris signs up for a psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money and leave.

Read Chapter 1 of The Mastermind – the true story of Paul Le Roux, the brilliant international crime boss from Krugersdorp

Read an excerpt from The Mastermind – the incredible true story of Paul Le Roux, the coder from Krugersdorp who became an international crime boss.

‘We have no photographs of our early days’ – Read an excerpt from Emma Rous’s gripping debut novel, The Au Pair

Read an excerpt from Emma Rous’s debut novel The Au Pair – one of the most anticipated books of 2019!

‘Only sons could carry the family name’ – Read an excerpt from Cheluchi Onyemelukwe-Onuobia’s debut novel The Son of the House

Penguin Random House has shared an excerpt from The Son of the House, the debut novel by Cheluchi Onyemelukwe-Onuobia.

Friday Night Book Club: Read an exclusive excerpt from Nthikeng Mohlele’s new novel Illumination

The Friday Night Book Club: Exclusive excerpts from Pan Macmillan every weekend!

‘The struggle for free education matters’ – Read Malaika wa Azania’s Foreword to We Are No Longer at Ease: The Struggle for #FeesMustFall

We Are No Longer at Ease is a collection of personal articles, essays, speeches and poetry mainly from voices of young people …

One of the first literary figures in France with a double identity, a cultural hybridity – An excerpt from The First Safari

Read an excerpt from The First Safari: Searching for François Levaillant by Ian Glenn, out now from Jacana Media!