Ben

Voted

Footnotes, December 2019: Book links from around the web

At The Reading List, we’re trainspotters when it comes to interesting book links, and here are a number that caught our eye …

Footnotes, November 2019: Book links from around the web

At The Reading List, we’re trainspotters when it comes to interesting book links, and here are a number that caught our eye …

For the Record

Footnotes, October 2019: Book links from around the web

At The Reading List, we’re trainspotters when it comes to interesting book links, and here are a number that caught our eye …

Footnotes, September 2019: Book links from around the web

At The Reading List, we’re trainspotters when it comes to interesting book links, and here are a number that caught our eye …

Footnotes, August 2019: Book links from around the web

At The Reading List, we’re trainspotters when it comes to interesting book links, and here are a number that caught our eye over the last month. Browse and enjoy!

Footnotes, July 2019: Book links from around the web

At The Reading List, we’re trainspotters when it comes to interesting book links, and here are a number that caught our eye over the last month. Browse and enjoy!

Footnotes, June 2019: Book links from around the web

At The Reading List, we’re trainspotters when it comes to interesting book links, and here are a number that caught our eye …

Friday Night Book Club: Read the first chapter of Sue Nyathi’s The Gold Diggers

The Friday Night Bookclub: Exclusive excerpts from Pan Macmillan every weekend!

Simultaneously heartbreaking and heart-warming: Sue Nyathi’s new novel The Gold Diggers

The Gold Diggers, the much-anticipated second novel from Sue Nyathi, is out in June from Pan Macmillan!

24 hours in Ancient Rome: Harry Sidebottom’s ‘relentless, brutal, brilliant’ new novel The Last Hour

For readers of Bernard Cornwell, Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden, The Last Hour is a thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

‘A terrifying flight into the heart of one of South Africa’s most prolific crimes’ – Heist! by Anneliese Burgess

‘A terrifying flight into the heart of one of South Africa’s most prolific crimes.’

Announcing the longlisted poems for the 2018 Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award and Anthology

The Jacana Literary Foundation (JLF) is delighted to announce that the work of 63 poets has been selected for publication in the 8th annual Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Anthology.

Shortlist for the Golden Man Booker Prize announced: honouring the best work of fiction over five decades

The shortlist for the Golden Man Booker Prize, the ‘five best Booker Prize winners of all time’, has been announced at the Hay Festival.

Join Iman Rappetti for the launch of her memoir Becoming Iman in Durban

Pan Macmillan and Exclusive Books invite you to celebrate the launch of Becoming Iman by Iman Rappetti.

Don’t miss Jan-Jan Joubert and Tony Leon at the launch of Who Will Rule in 2019? in Stellenbosch

Jonathan Ball Publishers and Protea Books are thrilled to invite you to the launch of Who Will Rule in 2019? by Jan-Jan Joubert.

‘The first thing Basjan did on arrival in the new land was to spit on it’ – Read an excerpt from Patagonia by Maya Fowler

The first thing Basjan did on arrival in the new land was to spit on it. It chagrined him that that was the first this land of grey dust got out of him, but it was necessary to rid himself of the taste of vomit. The salt water had been no help.

Career opportunity: Jacana Media’s Staging Post is hiring!

If all you’ve ever wanted was a career in publishing, then this position is for you. Applications close end June.

Pwaangulongii Dauod wins Gerald Kraak Award for his essay ‘Africa’s future has no space for stupid black men’

Pwaangulongii Dauod has won the R25 000 Gerald Kraak Award, which honours African writing and photography that ‘provokes thought on the topics of gender, social justice and sexuality’.

Save the date: Mpho Dagada on Bitcoin and growing your wealth

Jacana Media presents Mpho Dagada, a young, self-made millionaire who in his memoir, Mr Bitcoin: How I Became a Millionaire at 21, shares his story of triumph and failure.

‘I remember exactly where I was when I heard that my father had died’ – Read an excerpt from The Pearl Sister

I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard that my father had died, I thought to myself as I stared out of the window and saw the complete blackness of night. Intermittently below me, there were small clusters of twinkling lights indicating human habitation, each light containing a life, a family, a set of friends …